top of page
Search

Tahirah: Students vs Stigma


My name is Tahirah and I am a student at Cardiff university.


As a first year ODP (operating Department practice) student, life has been interesting...

I say this because every student is looking forward to freshers week, spending time away from home maybe for the first time and most importantly making new memories with new friends.


Many of these social activities have been difficult due to the pandemic but not impossible.


The use of Zoom has become a part of our everyday norms and as a student, where all my lectures were held. I can say that this is not how I has planned my first year of uni to go.


Some moments that have stood out for me, this year I have been assisting in the delivery of newborn babies. Something that no lecture can ever prepare you for.


It has been amazing to meet soo many different people online but I would have liked to have those meetings face to face. As a healthcare student, the majority of my year has been in theatres within the hospital. Meeting other students who are also in the healthcare field has been an eye opener to the fact that we have trained through world history!


Being a student through the pandemic has taught me many things.


3 of these are:


1. **Limiting screen time*:

This has really helped with my daily routine as I would normally be on lectures all day and spend all evening on social media.


2. *Regular breaks and prioritising sleep*:

Taking a few minutes to just stretch or even go get my favourite snack has helped me with my focus during lectures. I can't stress how important it has been for me to set a sleep time and stick to it to make sure I am well rested and ready for the tomorrow.


3. *Staying active and eating well* :

A walk in the fresh air or following a workout video on YouTube can be a great way to get the blood flowing after sitting down all day. I know I always feel great after a workout and actually look forward to it after a long day. I know it's easy to forget to eat nutritious meals or snacks but making a conscious effort to fuel my body with foods that will benefit me is also important.


- Tahirah Ali

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page